Recipients

Recipients that can receive messages directly

What is a recipient?

When you request your first API Key, you are sent a message with a link. When you click the link, you are verifying your XMPP ID. This process automatically adds you as the first recipient on your list. You can add four more recipients. Each one will receive a message with a link to verify.

Monitor.chat is very flexible. You can script an event to send your message to any combination of recipients.

# Send a message only to the chatroom:
/usr/local/bin/monitor.chat.sh "Hello World"

# Send a message to one recipient, but not to the chatroom:
/usr/local/bin/monitor.chat.sh "Hello World" "recip1@e2e.ee"

# Send a message to two recipients, but not to the chatroom:
/usr/local/bin/monitor.chat.sh "Hello World" "recip1@e2e.ee,recip2@e2e.ee"

# Send a message to two recipients and to the chatroom:
/usr/local/bin/monitor.chat.sh "Hello World" "recip1@e2e.ee,recip2@e2e.ee,monitor-my-servers@e2e.chat"

# Send a message to all recipients and to the chatroom:
/usr/local/bin/monitor.chat.sh "Hello World" "all"

What kind of messages should a recipient receive?

When something occurs that requires your immediate attention, a message should be sent directly to you or members of your team. Examples include:

  • A person requests help
  • A purchase has been made on a website
  • A service has gone down
  • Disk space is low
  • CPU use is high
  • An intrusion attempt is detected

How do I add a recipient to my API Key?

Before you add a recipient, it is a good idea that our robot monitor@noarchive.chat be added to the recipient’s contacts. This will ensure that messages sent by our bot are not blocked.

monitor@noarchive.chat

Now visit the monitor.chat website. Click “Manage” in the top menu. Click on “Manage a Monitor API Key”. Input your API Key. From here, you can add or remove recipients.

Each recipient that is added will receive an XMPP message asking him to click a link to verify that he wants to be included as a recipient. If he does not receive the message or he does not click the link, the recipient will be removed from your list in about 90 minutes. At that time, you can start the process over.

Opt-Out and Opt-In

Are you going on vacation and don’t want to be bothered?

Last modified October 31, 2020